Google+

The unexpected benefits of writing a blog.

Leave a comment

October 13, 2010 by N@

I’ve recently found that writing a blog has helped me to stay focused and on track. When I first started blogging I had certain goals in mind and a clear reason to invest my O’ so short time on producing regular blog entries.

I thought that writing a blog would be like pulling teeth and that no one cared what I had to say. However my opinion has now changed and I look forward to finding quiet moments to bang out a few lines here and there.

Ok so some of the obvious reasons I started blogging were work related. I wanted to drive more traffic and I wanted a greater level of interaction with customers, competition entrants and new visitors. That is still the case but it’s no longer the driving force. What I’ve found is that I enjoy it.

I really like the idea of giving back. My interests have always run in the direction of programming, graphic design and photography, and Luckily enough my work life has led me in this direction and I’m now happily in the position of designing and running photography competitions.

So where’s the giving back come into it? I have some amazing relationships with some of the worlds best photographers as well as new and newly established photographers. And common themes come up often in conversation. The challenges of starting out, forging relationships, how to deal with customers, the importance of mentors and talking to peers and on and on and on.
I realized I had relationships with guys that have been through the wringer themselves and come out the other end bigger and stronger for it. So why not talk to them, interview them, share the knowledge for the next generation to hopefully give them a kick start and some guidance.

One of the other things I’ve discovered about my self is that having a place to throw out ideas and half formed concepts is clearing my head of all the bits and pieces that hang around in there and I feel more focused.
I can lend my mind to a task and see it through more consistently without having those “OOo shiny things” moments where I drop what I’m doing and start up something new.

You may be reading this and be thinking “I don’t have the time to write a blog” or “I don’t have anything to say” and you may be right. But you might also find that like me having a place to form thoughts and share knowledge will start to show you benefits in unexpected ways.

N@

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 775 other followers

Photo Blog Blogs

Photo Blog Blogs
